Skip to content

Momentum Bears All

As James Hetfield of Metallica attempts to find his bearings in time for Glastonbury, PRS for Music Foundation lays bear the latest recipients of the Momentum Music Fund.

The other Momentum winners are: Bear’s Den, Anushka, Bat And Ball, Boy Jumps Ship, Debian Blak, Fiction, Hockeysmith, Menace Beach and Woman’s Hour. All artists will receive grants of between £5,000 and £15,000 to be spent on specific projects. These New Puritans seemingly spent theirs on performing an expanded version of their album with the brass, strings and percussion of the Heritage Orchestra.

Bear’s Den (pictured) also received the £2,500 Momentum Deezer Award, which will also include promotional support from the streaming service for their upcoming single ‘Elysium’.

Bear’s Den vocalist Andrew Davis said: “The Momentum Music Fund has made an amazing difference for us as a band and we’re honoured to be receiving the Momentum Deezer Award”.

As previously reported, the two-year Momentum programme uses funding from the National Lottery through Arts Council England and is managed by PRSF.

Vanessa Reed, Executive Director of PRSF said: “As we move into year 2 of this unique talent development fund it’s incredibly exciting to announce the latest list of talented artists who’ve been selected from another very high standard and, diverse batch of applications”.

The next deadline for Momentum applications is August 12th and you can find out more here.

Delivered with