Skip to content

Momentum in Timely Annoucement

You know that the year is truly in full swing when another Momentum fund announcement is made, causing blind panic at Gen HQ when we realise we really have scraped the barrel clean for headers this time.

PRS for Music Foundation has announced the latest round of artists that will benefit from the funding, and these are: Lonelady, Jessica Agombar (pictured), Matt Woods, Tropics, Night Works, MONEY, Adult Jazz, Arrows Of Love, Then Thickens and We Were Evergreen– when read in that order the list evokes the plot synopsis of a seedy late night neo-noir art house flick.

Choosing to not reflect on such conspiracy theories, Executive Director of PRS for Music Foundation Vanessa Reed said: “It’s great to see that the first artists receiving Momentum funding in 2015 are again of such a high caliber following another competitive round. We’re looking forward to tracking the results of this pioneering fund over the next year and to building on our unique partnership with Arts Council England and Deezer”.

As previously reported, all artists who receive Momentum funding also have the opportunity of winning the £2,500 Momentum Deezer Award in addition to their grant.

The next deadline for applications to the Momentum Music Fund is Tuesday, February 10th through the PRSF’s website.

In related news, PRSF and BBC Introducing have revealed the lineup for their joint showcase at SXSW, which takes place in Austin, Texas from March 17th -22nd. The announced artists are Blossoms, Gengahr, Jack Garratt, Little Simz, SOAK and Spring King and you can find out more here.

Delivered with