Skip to content

The Sound of Silence

Following the announcement of its music strategy and an all-star only God will ever know why cover of the Beach Boys earlier this year, the BBC Music Sound Of 2015 long list has been revealed, featuring 15 news acts tipped by a panel of 140 experts.

The artists announced are James Bay, Wolf Alice, George The Poet, Sunset Sons, Years & Years, Novelist, SOAK and Rae Morris alongside Raury, Kwabs, Låpsley, Slaves, Shamir, Shura and Stormzy– which sounds a little like an updated roll call for Disney’s seven dwarves and proves that artists in the S-club are going to rule 2015.

DJ Huw Stephens will announce the top five acts live on the breakfast show in the build up as he covers for Nick Grimshaw.

Stephens said: “It's always an exciting time of year to take stock and look at what might be making us dance, cry and jump for joy into the year ahead. I'm excited because there are a lot of artists I and my fellow DJs have supported on the list, and it's another great chance to share the music we love with an even bigger audience”.

Picking up the BBC Music thread, Director of BBC Music Bob Shennan said: “BBC Music was launched with scale and ambition earlier this year with the God Only Knows film, and Sound Of 2015 is another brilliant expression of the continuing BBC Music story as we remain committed to supporting music at every level”.

The top five acts will be revealed in January, counting down one each day from Monday January 5, with the winner announced on Friday January 9. Previous Sound of winners include Sam Smith in 2014, Haim, Little Boots and Ellie Goulding.

Elsewhere, the shortlist for the 2015 BRITs Critics' Choice Award has been revealed and the nominees are James Bay, George The Poet and Years & Years. Artists are eligible for consideration if they are signed to a record label and are set to release their debut album in 2015 (or if they've been nominated in someone else's award perhaps?).

Delivered with