Skip to content

AIM Announces 2016 Awards

AIM’s Independent Music Awards will return to The Brewery in Clerkenwell, London this year on September 6th.

Now in its sixth edition, the awards will this year be presented by Radio X’s John Kennedy and 1/1Xtra’s MistaJam (pictured).

In addition, the expert panel of judges for the awards has been refreshed and now includes executive producer of Later… With Jools Holland Alison Howe, Joe Zadeh from Noisey, Clara Amfo from Radio 1 and Maz Tappuni from Radio X.

As reported by Music Week, awards organiser Lara Baker said: “From the very beginning of the awards, we’ve been very aware of diversity, and not just in terms of ethnicity of nominees, but also gender and musical genres. The one thing we really want to achieve is to really represent the breadth of British music”.

Last year’s winners included the likes of Young Fathers, FKA Twigs, Skepta, Swans and Jungle.

Tickets are on sale now from here.

Delivered with