Skip to content

Ivor Cutler

The 60th Ivor Novello Awards took place last week (Thursday May 21st to be exact) at London’s Grosevenor House with fifteen awards presented to an eclectic bunch including Boy George, Annie Lennox, Bob Geldof and Midge Ure

Its almost as if, in a fit of pique and near violent nostalgia, the music industry decided to just pretend for one night that it was still the heyday of the 1980’s, with CD revenues rising and lavish album launch parties.

However, in a tip of the hat to modernity, the Manic Street Preachers and Ed Sheeran also won awards, the latter for songwriter of the year whilst James Dean Bradfield, Sean Moore and Nicky Wire received the ‘Ivors Inspiration’ award.

The Ivors were created by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA) to celebrate and reward excellence in British and Irish songwriting and composing and have been sponsored by PRS for Music since 1974.

BASCA Chairman, Simon Darlow said: “BASCA is delighted that in their 60th year The Ivors continue to celebrate the excellence of British and Irish songwriters and composers. From the BASCA Fellowship – the highest honour the Academy can bestow, to awards for works released last year, this year’s ceremony has represented a wonderful array of talent. Congratulations to everyone who has received an Ivor Novello Award today”.

To see the complete list of winners, toddle on over to Music Week.

Delivered with